OIG SI Joint Injection Audit 2026: What Pain Practices and ASCs Need to Know
The $15.2 million finding, diagnostic-versus-therapeutic billing risk, documentation failures, and the operational controls interventional pain organizations should review now.
What did the OIG actually audit?
OIG examined 186,970 Medicare Part B paid claim lines for CPT 27096 and CPT 64451 and grouped the claim lines into 186,842 same-patient, same-date sessions for which the Medicare Trust Fund payment was $50 or greater. OIG then selected a simple random sample of 100 sessions from the five MACs that had SI-joint LCDs and related billing articles during the October 1, 2023 through September 30, 2024 audit period. The frame represented $22,044,999 in Medicare payments. OIG excluded claim lines with provider specialty code 49, which applies to ASC facility expenses.
There is another important methodological point: OIG stated that it did not perform an independent medical review to decide whether each SI-joint injection was medically reasonable and necessary. Its determinations were limited to whether the documentation complied with the applicable LCD coverage requirements and billing guidance. That distinction matters. The report is fundamentally about whether the record and the claim demonstrated compliance with the controlling Medicare requirements.
For pain practices, this is precisely why post-payment exposure often originates upstream of coding. A claim can be technically clean and still be vulnerable if the clinical record does not establish the required pain pattern, provocative maneuvers, conservative-care history, image-guidance conditions, response thresholds, sequencing, or utilization history.
The broader OIG spinal pain management audit series
The SI-joint audit is part of OIG's continuing Audits of Medicare Payments for Spinal Pain Management Services work-plan series. The pattern shows sustained federal scrutiny across several high-volume pain-management service lines. It should not be read as a prediction of the next audit target, but it does support a broader compliance conclusion: session-level documentation, utilization, and billing controls remain a recurring federal concern.
| Report | Focus | Key reported result |
|---|---|---|
| A-09-20-03003 (2020) | Facet-joint injection frequency | $748,555 in improper payments for sessions exceeding the applicable frequency limit |
| A-09-20-03010 (2021) | Noridian Jurisdiction E facet-joint injections | 51 of 100 sampled beneficiary days were noncompliant; OIG estimated about $4.2 million in improper payments |
| A-09-21-03002 (2021) | Facet-joint denervation | $9.5 million in improper payments |
| A-07-21-00618 (2023) | Epidural steroid injection frequency | $3.6 million in improper payments |
| A-09-22-03006 (2023) | Spinal facet-joint interventions | 66 of 120 sampled sessions were noncompliant; OIG estimated $29.6 million in improper payments |
| A-09-23-03013 (2025) | Anesthesia during selected spinal pain procedures | $45.7 million in payments identified as at risk; OIG estimated $17.7 million in potential savings if oversight had prevented at-risk payments |
| OAS-25-09-021 (2026) | Sacroiliac joint injections | 72 of 100 sampled sessions were noncompliant; OIG estimated $15.16 million in improper payments in the five-MAC audit frame |
Where did the 72 sampled sessions fail?
OIG grouped the deficiencies into four major categories. Because 41 sessions had more than one deficiency, the category counts overlap.
1. Indications-of-pain requirements
Forty-seven sampled sessions failed one or more indication requirements. OIG reported deficiencies involving the required provocative maneuvers, absence of radiculopathy, conservative-therapy history, alternative causes identified by clinical findings or imaging, chronicity of pain, and the expected location or severity of SI-joint pain.
- 26 sessions lacked at least three positive provocative maneuvers.
- 21 sessions did not demonstrate low-back pain without radiculopathy.
- 18 sessions lacked the minimum four weeks of conservative therapy.
- 10 sessions had findings or imaging suggesting another diagnosis or source of pain.
- 10 sessions did not establish at least three months of chronic low-back pain.
- 4 sessions did not establish moderate-to-severe pain over the SI-joint region.
2. Imaging and pain-assessment requirements
Forty-five sampled sessions failed one or more imaging or pain-assessment requirements. The most common individual deficiency OIG identified was failure to document the pain level at the end of the session.
- 31 sessions lacked a documented post-procedure pain level.
- 17 sessions involved fluoroscopy without contrast or ultrasound without the required documented contrast-allergy circumstance.
- 16 sessions lacked the primary pain level at the beginning of the session.
3. Diagnostic and therapeutic sequencing requirements
Thirty-six sampled sessions failed requirements tied to diagnostic or therapeutic sequencing and response thresholds.
- 29 sessions involved a therapeutic injection when a qualifying diagnostic injection had not been performed or had not produced at least 75 percent pain relief.
- 6 sessions involved a subsequent therapeutic injection when the prior therapeutic injection did not produce at least 50 percent consistent pain relief or functional improvement for at least three months.
- 1 session involved a second diagnostic injection after the first failed to produce at least 75 percent pain relief.
4. Limitations on other injections during the same session or assessment period
Eight sampled sessions failed limitations involving other musculoskeletal injections or multiple blocks during the same SI-joint session or efficacy-assessment period.
A post-procedure pain score is not a cosmetic field. In this audit, failure to document pain at the end of the session was the single most frequently reported imaging/pain-assessment deficiency. Structured documentation should force capture of both the pre-injection baseline and the immediate post-injection response when the applicable Medicare policy requires it.
The diagnostic-versus-therapeutic billing problem
OIG found that 25 of the 100 sampled sessions were billed as therapeutic when they should have been billed as diagnostic with modifier KX. OIG estimated that 46,711 of the 186,842 sessions in the audit frame were similarly misclassified.
OIG also made an important point that practices should not miss: the diagnostic-versus-therapeutic classification did not change the physician's payment amount in the audited context. The risk is instead created by utilization logic. The five MAC LCDs reviewed by OIG limited reimbursement to no more than two diagnostic SI-joint injection sessions and no more than four therapeutic SI-joint injection sessions per beneficiary during a rolling 12-month period. Misclassifying a diagnostic session as therapeutic can therefore consume a therapeutic session in the payer's utilization history and create downstream coverage or patient-access problems.
Current CMS Medicare Coverage Database billing articles for MAC jurisdictions with SI-joint policies continue to direct use of modifier KX for diagnostic injections and set diagnostic and therapeutic utilization parameters. Because Medicare local coverage documents change, practices should verify the article and LCD that are effective for the jurisdiction and date of service before operational reliance.
The operational control is not “teach billing to add KX.” The control is to declare diagnostic versus therapeutic intent before the procedure, reconcile it to the patient's prior SI-joint session history, make the procedure note reflect that intent and response pathway, and only then allow the claim logic to fire. Coding should be the last confirmation of the pathway, not the first place the pathway is decided.
What current Medicare billing guidance means for professional and facility workflows
Current MAC billing guidance available through the CMS Medicare Coverage Database contains several operational distinctions that are especially important when a single clinical event produces both a professional claim and an ASC or hospital outpatient facility claim.
- Professional bilateral reporting: applicable articles direct bilateral SI-joint procedures reported with CPT 27096 or 64451 to use modifier 50 on the professional claim.
- ASC facility bilateral reporting: applicable articles direct ASC facility claims to report bilateral procedures on two separate lines with one unit each using LT and RT, rather than modifier 50.
- ASC and OPPS facility code: applicable articles direct ASC facilities and hospital outpatient departments to report HCPCS G0260 for SI-joint injections rather than CPT 27096 for the facility claim.
- Image guidance: applicable articles state that image guidance is packaged into G0260 and that CPT 77002 or 77012 is not separately paid to the ASC or OPPS hospital outpatient department. Documentation must still support the required guidance.
- Sacral nerve injection code: CPT 64451 includes imaging guidance; imaging codes should not be separately reported with 64451.
CMS did not agree with OIG on the NCD recommendation
OIG made three recommendations. The first asked CMS to work with the five MACs that had SI-joint LCDs and billing articles on consistent provider education. The second asked CMS and those MACs to develop solutions to prevent diagnostic injections from being billed as therapeutic, including education around modifier KX. CMS concurred with both.
The third recommendation asked CMS to use the audit results and other information either to adopt a national coverage determination for SI-joint injections or to work with the two MACs without SI-joint LCDs to develop them. CMS did not concur with this third recommendation. CMS stated that Congress delegated LCD development to MACs, that the statute does not require uniform LCDs across jurisdictions, and that an NCD would not necessarily correct adjudication or criteria-adherence problems. OIG maintained that the recommendation remained valid.
As of August 19, 2026, OIG's recommendation tracker lists all three recommendations as open and unimplemented, with the next update expected February 2, 2027. That status does not mean CMS has agreed to pursue an NCD. For operational planning, the correct conclusion is narrower: national standardization remains an OIG recommendation under discussion, not an adopted Medicare coverage policy.
Does this OIG report automatically trigger the Medicare 60-day overpayment rule for every practice?
No. The SI-joint audit does not state that every physician practice performing SI-joint injections has received an overpayment, and it does not direct all physicians nationally to refund claims. The report also does not contain the “credible information” language that appeared in certain earlier OIG spinal-pain audit recommendations directed to specific physicians or claims populations.
Current 42 CFR 401.305 states that a person identifies an overpayment when the person knowingly receives or retains an overpayment, using the False Claims Act definition of “knowingly.” Once an overpayment is identified, the general deadline is 60 days, subject to the regulation's exceptions. The current rule also allows the report-and-return deadline to be suspended during a timely, good-faith investigation of related overpayments arising from the same or similar cause, until the earlier of completion and calculation of the related overpayments or 180 days after the initial identified overpayment was identified. The regulation retains a six-year lookback period for identified overpayments.
The OIG report is a strong reason for pain organizations to assess whether their own controls and claims history show a specific overpayment issue. It should not be presented as a legal conclusion that publication of the national audit automatically starts a 60-day repayment clock for every practice. Organization-specific identification, investigation scope, sampling, privilege, disclosure, and refund decisions should be made with qualified compliance and healthcare legal counsel.
The SI Joint Injection Revenue Integrity Control Map
The strongest response is not a one-time coding education session. It is a set of preventive controls that connect referral intake, medical-necessity documentation, prior authorization, procedure documentation, coding, facility/professional reconciliation, and post-payment compliance.
Capture pain location, duration, provocative maneuvers, radicular findings, conservative care, imaging, and alternative pain generators when required by the controlling policy.
Medical-necessity or documentation failure before authorization begins.
Clinical intake / PA
Track patient, date, side, diagnostic vs. therapeutic intent, code family, payer, jurisdiction, and prior response.
Frequency-limit breaches and misclassification of utilization history.
PA / UM
Require the ordering or performing clinician to identify diagnostic versus therapeutic pathway before the case is scheduled.
KX logic being decided retrospectively by billing staff.
Physician / scheduling
Capture pre-procedure pain, immediate post-procedure pain or relief, laterality, image-guidance modality, contrast use or documented exception, and treatment intent.
Post-payment documentation insufficiency.
Clinical documentation
Retain the images or films required by the applicable MAC article and ensure they are retrievable with the procedure record.
Failure to substantiate guidance or final needle position on records request.
Clinical operations
Drive both claims from one authoritative procedure note while applying the correct claim-specific code and modifier logic.
ASC/OPPS code conflicts, laterality mismatch, and imaging-package errors.
Coding / revenue integrity
Use hard stops for missing critical data and conduct periodic physician-level review for recurring defects.
Repeated defects from accumulating unnoticed over time.
Compliance / revenue integrity
A practical internal screening protocol
This is a GoHealthcare operational screening recommendation, not an OIG, CMS, statistical-sampling, or legal standard. Organizations can use it to determine whether a deeper compliance review is warranted.
- Select a defined, recent set of SI-joint injection sessions for each performing clinician.
- Confirm that diagnostic versus therapeutic intent is explicit and consistent across the order, authorization, procedure note, and claim.
- Confirm KX use matches the documented diagnostic pathway under the applicable MAC policy.
- Reconstruct each patient's rolling 12-month SI-joint session history.
- Confirm pre-procedure and immediate post-procedure pain documentation when required.
- Confirm image-guidance modality and contrast use or documented exception.
- Confirm required images are retained and retrievable under the applicable article.
- Confirm laterality is consistent among the order, note, authorization, and claim.
- Confirm professional and facility bilateral-reporting logic is appropriate for the claim type.
- Confirm site-of-service coding is appropriate for professional, ASC facility, or hospital outpatient billing.
- Confirm separately billed imaging is not reported when included or packaged under the applicable code and setting.
- Confirm SI-joint injection and sacral nerve-block coding are not reported for the same side when prohibited by the applicable policy.
- Confirm the diagnosis code is supported by the record and is on the applicable payer or MAC list when such a list governs coverage.
- Confirm injectate content and other same-session procedures do not create a coverage limitation under the controlling policy.
What should leadership measure after remediation?
- Session-level documentation completeness rate by performing clinician.
- Diagnostic/therapeutic concordance rate across order, authorization, note, and claim.
- KX concordance rate for Medicare diagnostic SI-joint sessions where applicable.
- Rolling-utilization exception rate identified before the date of service.
- Image-retention completeness for applicable Medicare sessions.
- Pre-bill hard-stop rate and percentage resolved before submission.
- Post-payment defect rate from periodic retrospective reviews.
- Physician-level variation so group averages do not conceal concentrated risk.
What this means for ambulatory surgery centers
The OIG audit did not statistically audit ASC facility claims, but ASCs still have a material operational dependency because the same procedure note supports two claim streams with different reporting rules. The highest-value ASC control is to reconcile the professional and facility claims against the same source note before either claim is released.
ASC leadership should specifically validate laterality, bilateral conventions, G0260 facility reporting when applicable, image-guidance packaging, documentation availability, and the consistency of the professional and facility date of service. The compliance objective is not to make the two claims look identical. It is to make both claims accurately represent the same clinical event under their respective reporting rules.
What this means for prior authorization and utilization management
Prior authorization is often the first operational function with visibility into the requested procedure, payer, planned site of service, clinical documentation, and prior session history. That makes PA and UM natural control points for preventing SI-joint utilization and sequencing errors before they reach the procedure room.
A strong workflow tracks the patient's SI-joint history at the session level, not merely the claim-line level, and records diagnostic versus therapeutic intent before submission. This is GoHealthcare operational guidance, not a Medicare requirement to structure the PA department in a particular way. The value is practical: it makes the utilization pathway visible before a claim is created.
Payer Perspective: Medicare rules are not commercial-payer rules
The OIG findings are Medicare findings tied to the LCDs and billing articles evaluated during the audit period. Commercial payer medical policies, Medicare Advantage requirements, Medicaid rules, workers' compensation policies, and utilization-management vendors may use different criteria, thresholds, authorization rules, or code logic. Do not import a Medicare LCD requirement into a commercial payer workflow unless that payer's current policy supports it.
For multi-payer practices, the operating model should separate: (1) Medicare statutory and MAC requirements; (2) commercial and Medicare Advantage medical-policy requirements; (3) coding rules; and (4) internal GoHealthcare workflow controls. Conflating those categories is itself a source of denial and compliance risk.
Executive actions for the next 90 days
- Validate the current Medicare policy map. Identify which MAC governs each practice location and verify the LCD and billing article in effect for current dates of service.
- Review the SI-joint note template. Make high-risk elements structured and hard to omit.
- Build or validate the session-level utilization ledger. Include diagnostic/therapeutic intent and prior response.
- Reconcile authorization, procedure note, and claim logic. These should be treated as one control chain.
- Audit professional/facility consistency for ASC cases. One source note, two correctly constructed claims.
- Perform a targeted screening review. Escalate to compliance and counsel if the review identifies a pattern that could represent actual overpayments.
- Monitor the OIG recommendation tracker. Pay particular attention to CMS/MAC education changes and any future movement on the LCD/NCD issue.
Frequently Asked Questions
What did the 2026 OIG SI joint injection audit find?
OIG found that 72 of 100 sampled sessions paid by the five MACs with applicable SI-joint LCDs did not comply with one or more Medicare requirements. OIG estimated $15.16 million in improper payments associated with 134,526 of 186,842 sessions in that audit frame and estimated 46,711 sessions were billed as therapeutic instead of diagnostic.
Was the $15.2 million estimate a projection of every Medicare SI joint injection nationwide?
No. The statistical projection applied to the 186,842-session frame from the five MACs with SI-joint LCDs and billing articles. OIG separately reported that the two MACs without SI-joint LCDs paid $12.3 million for SI-joint injections, about 36 percent of nationwide Medicare payments during the audit period, and those payments were outside the statistical projection.
Did OIG independently determine that the sampled procedures were medically unnecessary?
No. OIG stated that it did not perform independent medical review to determine whether the procedures were medically reasonable and necessary. It evaluated whether the supporting documentation met the applicable LCD coverage and billing requirements.
What was the KX modifier issue?
In the MAC billing articles evaluated by OIG, KX was used to identify diagnostic SI-joint injections. OIG found 25 sampled sessions that had been billed as therapeutic when they should have been billed as diagnostic, and estimated 46,711 such sessions in the five-MAC audit frame.
How many SI joint injection sessions does Medicare allow?
In the five MAC LCDs OIG evaluated, coverage was limited to no more than two diagnostic SI-joint injection sessions and no more than four therapeutic sessions in a rolling 12-month period, unilateral or bilateral. Medicare coverage is local and date-specific, so the current controlling LCD or article must be verified before relying on those figures.
Did CMS agree to create a national coverage determination for SI joint injections?
No. OIG recommended that CMS either adopt an NCD or work with the two MACs without SI-joint LCDs to develop them, but CMS did not concur with that recommendation. OIG continues to list it as open and unimplemented.
Does this OIG report automatically mean my practice owes Medicare a refund?
No. The audit does not determine that any individual practice outside the sampled claims received an overpayment. Current Medicare overpayment obligations are fact-specific. Organizations that identify a potential problem should involve compliance leadership and qualified healthcare counsel to determine the appropriate investigation and reporting response.
The strategic read
The most important lesson from OAS-25-09-021 is not that SI-joint coding suddenly became more difficult. It is that Medicare payment integrity in interventional pain depends on the integrity of the entire clinical-to-claim pathway. In OIG's sample, the highest-frequency problems included missing or insufficient clinical criteria, pain-assessment documentation, image-guidance conditions, diagnostic/therapeutic sequencing, and billing classification.
For leadership teams, the response should therefore be cross-functional. Clinical intake and practice operations must capture the criteria. Prior authorization and utilization management must see the rolling history. The physician note must meet the applicable documentation standard. Coding must reflect the declared pathway and site of service. The facility and professional claims must reconcile to one clinical event. Compliance must be able to test the controls before a government reviewer does.
Revenue integrity in interventional pain does not begin at claim submission. It begins when the clinical pathway is defined and documented.
Related GoHealthcare Resources
Continue exploring GoHealthcare Practice Solutions resources on pain management, Medicare readiness, documentation, coding, prior authorization, revenue integrity, and ambulatory surgery center operations.
Authoritative References
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General. Medicare Improperly Paid Physicians an Estimated $15.2 Million for Sacroiliac Joint Injections, OAS-25-09-021, issued August 3, 2026. OIG report page.
- HHS-OIG. Full Report: OAS-25-09-021. Full audit PDF.
- HHS-OIG. Audits of Medicare Payments for Spinal Pain Management Services, Work Plan Series SRS-A-25-006. OIG work-plan series.
- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Medicare Coverage Database. Verify the current SI-joint LCD and billing article for the applicable MAC, jurisdiction, and date of service. CMS Medicare Coverage Database.
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations. 42 CFR § 401.305, Requirements for reporting and returning of overpayments. Current eCFR.
Important notice: This publication is educational and operational in nature. It is not legal advice, a coding authority, a substitute for the current Medicare LCD or billing article, or a determination that any specific claim was overpaid. Medicare contractor policies, code sets, payment rules, and payer requirements change. Verify the controlling source for the patient, payer, plan, jurisdiction, site of service, and date of service before operational reliance. Organization-specific overpayment, self-disclosure, refund, sampling, and privilege decisions should be reviewed with qualified healthcare counsel and compliance leadership.


RSS Feed